Why I Am Against Apathy

At one point, Ms Ong mumbled something about changing Syariah law, but when asked to clarify by a reporter, she took it back and said:
‘What I want to say is that we are working for all women, whether you are Muslim, Buddhist, Christian…’
‘You haven’t answered any of our questions!’ exclaimed one exasperated reporter.
Said Ms Ng: ‘We organised this press conference because we wanted to explain our position.
‘Now, we have a question for the media.’
What is the newspapers’ role in all of this, she asked. Why the unusually keen interest in the gay agenda?
Her question was met with silence.
And with that, the press conference ended.


I don’t think the interest was in any gay agenda. The interest was that these people had the audacity to do such a deplorable planned ‘coup’. The important issue for everyone else was the burning question of what exactly is the agenda of this group who had initially claimed that they did not know each other prior to the AGM. This blatant lie is what broke the straw on the camel’s back for me.
They are simply not credible and are seriously undermining the image of women in this country. I don’t want these women head an advocacy group for gender equality especially after I read the stand of their church on the roles of women in the family. How can I be convinced that they are going to act in the best interest of all women when they are in a church with the official position that “husbands are the head of the family and women must submit to them as their husbands do to God”.
Some friends have expressed the view that it will all blow over and etc etc… I beg to differ. We must not remain silent.
“First they came…” is a poem attributed to Pastor Martin Niemöller (1892–1984) about the inactivity of German intellectuals following the Nazi rise to power and the purging of their chosen targets, group after group. His poem is well-known, frequently quoted, and is a popular model for describing the dangers of political apathy, as it often begins with specific and targeted fear and hatred which soon escalates out of control.

First they came…

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

Then they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
I did not speak out;
I was not a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out for me.

– Martin Niemöller

Original Deutsch

Als die Nazis die Kommunisten holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Kommunist.

Als sie die Sozialdemokraten einsperrten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Sozialdemokrat.

Als sie die Gewerkschafter holten,
habe ich nicht protestiert;
ich war ja kein Gewerkschafter.

Als sie die Juden holten,
habe ich geschwiegen;
ich war ja kein Jude.

Als sie mich holten,
gab es keinen mehr, der protestieren konnte.

Leave a Reply

