Powerless As Individuals Perhaps

I was a bitch on Friday afternoon. I saw a teenager throw an empty cup from a fast food restaurant in the grass while walking from work. I stopped him and his friend and made them pick up the cup. I was walking behind them and called him to again near a bus stop when he threw the same cup at the side of a litter bin. yes, I am always doing busybody things like that (What I did to the lecher).

My friend said I was a fool, there were two of them and they could have attacked me. I don’t think so. I sometimes (When I am really bored and free) will surf STOMP and the place is full of people who take photos of what they perceive as wrong doings of others and post them online. Some other people will then post comments saying why didn’t you do something about it then? Yes, why didn’t they? It’s not just a question of moral courage, it’s about how strongly we feel about our convictions and how far would we go for them.

They were wrong to litter, I live in the area and I don’t wish to live in a place full of rubbish. I was reminded of Haruki Murakami’s acceptance speech last month by someone’s MSN nick.

“Between a high, solid wall and an egg that breaks against it, I will always stand on the side of the egg.”

He is talking about humans as eggs and the system we created. I, being a mundane plebian, ponder on my own role as in the world. Do I take on a defeatist attitude and decide that since I am powerless as an individual, I should turn a blind eye to what is wrong and complain bitterly about? Or shall I try, in my own capacity to be a better person? Does standing on the side of the eggs involve actively doing something for all the ‘eggs’ or is just thinking that enough?

I am not exactly a very positive Anne of Green Gables sort but I do believe we all have a part in the world we live in. I was reading an apologetic book (Apologetics is the branch of theology which seeks to defend a religion’s tenets through reasoned argument. Sorry, I did do Philosophy as a minor in university after all.) on Bahá’í and was impressed by what Shoghi Effendi said.

The independent search after truth, unfettered by superstition or tradition; the oneness of the entire human race, the pivotal principle and fundamental doctrine of the Faith; the basic unity of all religions; the condemnation of all forms of prejudice, whether religious, racial, class or national; the harmony which must exist between religion and science; the equality of men and women, the two wings on which the bird of humankind is able to soar; the introduction of compulsory education; the adoption of a universal auxiliary language; the abolition of the extremes of wealth and poverty; the institution of a world tribunal for the adjudication of disputes between nations; the exaltation of work, performed in the spirit of service, to the rank of worship; the glorification of justice as the ruling principle in human society, and of religion as a bulwark for the protection of all peoples and nations; and the establishment of a permanent and universal peace as the supreme goal of all mankind—these stand out as the essential elements (which Bahá’u’lláh proclaimed).

While I am not about to be a convert, I am greatly impressed by their teachings. It appeals to the rational part of me and their beliefs on equality of sexes is much appreciated. The belief that world peace is crucial also makes a lot of sense.

P.S Resort World Sentosa is thinking of importing whale sharks. Please read about what whale sharks need and decide if you want to support them. Anyway, here’s where I am hoping you will go support the ‘eggs’.

One Response

  1. I was interested to see the reference to “the adoption of a universal auxiliary language”. Have you ever looked at Esperanto? This planned language has certainly enriched my life. Take a look a t http://www.esperanto.net

Leave a Reply

